Rice varieties of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana

Rice varieties of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana
Rice varieties of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana

Rice, also called Oryza Sativa, is the 2nd highest produced grain after corn or maize. It is regarded as the most important grain in reference to human nutrition and calorific intake. Rice provides more than 1/5th of the calories consumed worldwide by the human species.

The states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana together grow 100+ varieties like:

  • Chitti Mutyalu

  • Kurnool Sona or Sona masoori

  • Bangaru Theegalu

  • Pusa-677 (IET-12617)

  • Krishna Hamsa

  • Triguna (IET-12875)

  • Indur Samba

  • Keshava

  • Swathi

  • Vedagiri

  • Maruteru Sannalu

  • Cottondora Sannalu

  • Bharani

  • Deepti

  • Srikakulam Sannalu

  • Vasundhara

  • Early Samba

  • Surya

  • Tholakari

  • Godavari

  • Shanthi

  • Indra

  • Sree Kurma

  • BPT Rice

  • Bathukamma

  • RNR 15048 or Telangana Sona

  • 1010 (Veyyi Padi)

  • Aarkalu - an ancient varietal

  • Swarna

  • Samba

  • RJL

  • Sampada

  • Amara

  • Sri Dhruthi

  • Tarangini

  • Bheema

  • Chandra

  • Pushyami

  • Prabhat

  • Sujatha

  • Maruteru Samba

  • Maruteru Mahsuri

  • Sravani

  • Samba masuri

  • Gidda masuri

  • Vijaya masuri

  • Tella Masuri

  • Jeelakara Masuri

  • Molagolukulu

  • Jeelakara Sannalu

  • Jayelu

Andhra Pradesh

This state ranks third in rice production, with about 128.95 lakh tons of rice in India. It accounts for about12% of the total rice produced in the country. Rice is grown throughout the state, providing food for its growing population, fodder to the cattle, and employment to the rural masses.

Paddy is cultivated in more than 22 lakh hectares during Kharif and Rabi seasons. 13 districts of Andhra Pradesh are producing rice crop, out of which West Godavari, East Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, and Chittoor are the major producers.

In fact, the areas around West Godavari, East Godavari, and Krishna are the three most important rice-producing districts of India. West Godavari, and East Godavari districts are considered as the rice bowl of Andhra Pradesh.

The government is trying to aid the farmer community of Andhra Pradesh to accelerate the spread of high-yielding varieties. New varieties of paddy have been introduced, such as MTU-1075, MTU-1153, MTU-1156 and MTU-1121 etc.

Source from: apseeds.ap.gov.in


2020 has been a game-changer for the state of Telangana. It has contributed 63 percent of Food Corporation of India (FCI)’s total paddy procurement. According to FCI Chairman and Managing Director DV Prasad, the newly formed state of Telangana supplied over 52.23 lakh tonnes of paddy against 83.01 lakh tonnes nationwide.

The state expects to double the production to 2 crore tonnes in the coming year as the paddy area is expected to touch the 70-lakh acre mark from 47 lakh acres this year.

This spurt in rice production is owed to the free power and availability of water due to the construction of new irrigation projects, and the farmers could produce the highest paddy yield this year.

FCI is issuing around 1.32 lakh tonnes of rice at subsidized rates to the state of Telangana to help 88 lakh people who are not covered under the National Food Security Act. With the raging pandemic, especially during the lockdown, FCI Telangana transported about 13 lakh tonnes of rice through 495 train loads — the highest ever to date in such a short span.